The arts are our inheritance, and our legacy  
  [ HOME ]


Dick Wilson, Grand Rapids woodworker, won the 2012 Saugatuck Center for the Arts award.

Marie Rust of Pinckney, MI won the 2012 Cora Bliss Taylor award for her drawings.  She is pictured here with Saugatuck artist Krista Reuter, who judged this year's show.

Loren Corell, acrylic painter of Ballwin, MO, won the 2012 Fred T. Larson Award.

Mandy Lohman, concrete sculptor from Caledonia, MI won the 2012 Jean Goldsmith award.  She is pictured here with judge Krista Reuter.

2012 Mayor's award winner, wood carver and sculptor Martin Schnur, with Saugatuck Mayor Jane Verplank.

Photographer Josh Haas, winner with David Haas of the 2012 DeMond's SuperValu Award.

Fiber artist Nile Kramer, winner of the 2012 Saugatuck-Douglas District Library award.

Judge Krista Reuter with Mat Hutchins, winner of the 2012 Drongowski Family award for best photography.

Krista Reuter with Saugatuck-Douglas artist Suzanne Mays-Wentzell, winner of the 2012 James Boyce Family award for best marine scene.

Grand Rapids painter Cam deCaussin, winner of the 2012 Tom and Judy Anthrop Award winner for best landscape in oil.

Metal sculptor Penny Whisenhunt who with her husband Jerry won the 2012 Jeff and Katharine Wilcox purchase award, with Jeff Wilcox of Coldwell Banker Woodland Schmidt Realtors.

Quilter Sandy Dekker with the donor of her purchase award, Dee Dee Hanson of Coldwell Banker Woodland Schmidt Realtors of Douglas.

Artist Betsy Buurma Morton won the 2012 James Brandess purchase award donated by Saugatuck artist James Brandess of James Brandess Studios, Inc.  She is pictured here with Mr. Brandess, who purchased the collage of Holland Centennial Park shown behind the ribbon.

Photos copyright 2012 by Dee Dee Hanson, except Whisenhunt/Wilcox, Dekker/Hanson and Morton/Brandess photos copyright 2012 by Jim Hanson.

The Saugatuck Douglas Art Club is pleased to announce the award winners at the 34rd annual Waterfront Invitational Art Fair which was held in Cook Park, Saugatuck on Saturday, June 30, 2012. The Waterfront is one of two juried art fairs organized by the Saugatuck Douglas Art Club, which uses the proceeds to fund a scholarship program for local students pursuing a career in the arts, to support the art programs at Saugatuck Public Schools, and for other arts projects in the area. The Art Club thanks its donors, and all its participating artists, for their efforts in support of this year’s fair.

Woodworker Dick Wilson of Grand Rapids, Michigan won the Saugatuck Center for the Arts award donated by the SCA. Wilson is a wood sculptor and wood turner who has been working in the craft for five years.

Marie Rust of Pinckney, Michigan won the Cora Bliss Taylor award, donated by the Art Club. Rust’s pen and ink drawings of native animals and birds were admired by fair judge Krista Reuter, a Saugatuck multi-media artist. Cora Bliss Taylor (1889-1986) was a Saugatuck painter and art teacher who taught many early Art Club members.

Painter Loren Corell of Ballwin, Missouri won the Fred T. Larson award, donated by Jim Hanson, Larson’s great-grandnephew. Corell paints in acrylics. Fred T. Larson (1869-1944) was a Chicago painter and woodcut artist and founder of the Palette and Chisel Club in that city.

Wood sculptor Martin Schnur of Comstock Park, Michigan creates life size carved wood reproductions of wildlife fish species. He won the City of Saugatuck award, donated annually by the City. His works were selected for the award by Mayor Jane Verplank, formerly a gallery owner and operator, who noted their quality.

Concrete sculptor Mandy Lohman of Caledonia, Michigan makes large leaf castings for gardens. She won the Jean Goldsmith award, donated by the Art Club. Jean Delo Goldsmith (1897-1988), the first president of the Art Club, was a Saugatuck painter and ceramics artist.

Watercolor painter Suzanne Mays-Wentzell of the Saugatuck-Douglas area won the James Boyce Family award, donated by the late Mr. Boyce’s family. James Boyce III (1930-2008) of Saugatuck, originated the award some years ago for the best marine scene in the fair.

Photographers David and Josh Haas of Battle Creek, Michigan won the DeMond’s SuperValu award, donated by Saugatuck-Douglas’s hometown grocery and liquor store. The Haases’ photographic subjects include wildlife and other scenes of nature.

Photographer Mat Hutchins, of Portage, Indiana won the Drongowski Family award, donated by Karen and Phil Drongowski of Saugatuck. The Drongowski Family award is for the best photography in the fair.

Fiber artist, maker of clothing and scarves, Nile Kramer of Commerce, Michigan won the Saugatuck-Douglas District Library award, donated by our local library.

Painter Cam deCaussin of Grand Rapids won the Tom and Judy Anthrop award for best landscape in oil, donated by artists Tom and Judy Anthrop of Douglas.

Several local people donated purchase awards, which allowed them to select a work at the fair, purchase it, and give the artist a ribbon indicating their appreciation of his or her work. The award winners were Betsy Buurma Morton, watercolorist of Holland, Michigan, who often depicts lakeshore and river scenes, one of whose collages, depicting Centennial Park in Holland, was purchased by James Brandess of James Brandess Studios, Inc., who said it reminded him of the collages of his late friend Saugatuck artist Sylvia Randolph; Penny and Jerry Whisenhunt, of Huntington, Indiana, metal sculptors producing garden decorations, several of whose pieces were purchased by Jeff and Katharine Wilcox of Coldwell Banker Woodland Schmidt Realtors in Douglas; and Sandy Dekker, a Fremont, Michigan quilter, whose work was purchased by Dee Dee Hanson, also of Coldwell Banker Woodland Schmidt Realtors.